About Us

The Magazine Division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication is composed of journalism professors who teach courses in magazine writing, editing, management, and design at colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. We publish the scholarly online Journal of Magazine Media and a biannual newsletter. Our teaching activities include the popular Student Magazine Contest and faculty development tour as well as a syllabus exchange and student magazine exchange. Each year members present research papers at both the Southeast Colloquium and the AEJMC Convention. We welcome inquiries from professional magazine editors and publishers.

Head
Miglena Sternadori
Texas Tech University
(605) 760-0995
miglena.sternadori@ttu.edu

Vice Head and
   Program Chair

Sharon Bloyd-Peshkin

Columbia College—    Chicago
(708) 363-3893
speshkin@colum.edu

Journal Editor
Kevin Lerner

Marist College
(845) 575-3000 x. 2661
kevinmlerner@gmail.com

Newsletter Editor and Journal Associate Editor
Joy Jenkins

University of Missouri
(918) 398-3330
joymjenkins@gmail.com

 

Teaching Chair
Lisa Weidman

Linfield College
(503) 883-2219
lweidma@linfield.edu

PF&R Chair
Jim Shahin

Syracuse University
(202) 236-5111
jbshahin@syr.edu

Research Chair and        Contest Co-Chair
Pamela Nettleton

Marquette University  
(414) 288-6437
pamela.nettleton@
marquette.edu

Social Media Chair
Jeff Inman
Drake University
(515) 271-3941
jeff.inman@drake.edu


Grad Student Liaison    
Chelsea Reynolds

School of Journalism
University of Minnesota
(515) 240-5157
reyno492@umn.edu

Student Magazine
   Contest Co-Chair

Carol Holstead

University of Kansas
(785) 864-7628
holstead@ku.edu

Membership Chair
Vanessa Gregory

University of Mississippi
(662) 915-5503
vanessa@vgregory.com

Webmaster | Journal    Managing Editor
Carol Schwalbe

University of Arizona
(520) 621-6223
cschwalbe@email.
arizona..edu


Immediate Past Head
Susan Currie Sivek

Linfield College
(210) 367-2679
susan.sivek@gmail.com